Home / INDIA / Miss World

Miss World

Miss World – A Pageant Created In London But Made Popular Around The World

The Miss World beauty contest is the oldest beauty pageant which still exists and attracts a large number of viewers, across the globe. It was created in the year 1951, one year prior to Miss Universe. It was slated to be a one off bikini contest but the media hype and the contest’s popularity transformed it into an annual ‘Miss World’ beauty contest. The contest was conceptualized by Eric Morley in the United Kingdom. While the contest is among the most popular and the oldest in the world, it has had its share of problems and controversies. One among them was the opposition of the participants to wear bikini and the pageant had to thus, tone it down to a more unpretentious swimwear. There have been various other controversies and debates that have surrounded the pageant over the years.

With BBC telecasting the contest for the first time in 1959, it garnered immense popularity among the masses. For years together, the pageant happened to be the most popular and highest rated television programme of the United Kingdom (UK). The recent avatar of the contest was developed in the 1980s when the test of intelligence and personality was also encompassed into the list of considerations to choose the winner.

Post the death of Eric Morley in the year 2000, his wife took over the reign of the same and does so with conviction till date. The winner of the contest, generally, stays in London and travels across the world for one year to represent the Miss World Organization and the various causes that it endorses.

List of Miss World Winners: 

Year Miss World Winner Country
2011 Ivian Sarcos Venezuela
2010 Alexandria Mills United States
2009 Kaiane Aldorino Gibraltar
2008 Ksenia Sukhinova Russia
2007 Zhang Zilin China
2006 Taťána Kuchařová Czech Republic
2005 Unnur Birna Vilhjálmsdóttir Iceland
2004 María Julia Mantilla Peru
2003 Rosanna Davison Ireland
2002 Azra Akın Turkey
2001 Agbani Darego Nigeria
2000 Priyanka Chopra India
1999 Yukta Mookhey India
1998 Linor Abargil Israel
1997 Diana Hayden India
1996 Irene Skliva Greece
1995 Jacqueline Aguilera Venezuela
1994 Aishwarya Rai India
1993 Lisa Hanna Jamaica
1992 Julia Kourotchkina Russia
1991 Ninibeth Leal Venezuela
1990 Gina Tolleson United States
1989 Aneta Kręglicka Poland
1988 Linda Pétursdóttir Iceland
1987 Ulla Weigerstorfer Austria
1986 Giselle Laronde Trinidad & Tobago
1985 Hólmfríður Karlsdóttir Iceland
1984 Astrid Carolina Herrera Venezuela
1983 Sarah-Jane Hutt United Kingdom
1982 Mariasela Álvarez Dominican Republic
1981 Pilín León Venezuela
1980 Gabriella Brum (Resigned) West Germany
1980 Kimberley Santos (unknown) Guam
1979 Gina Swainson Bermuda
1978 Silvana Suárez Argentina
1977 Mary Stävin Sweden
1976 Cindy Breakspeare Jamaica
1975 Wilnelia Merced Puerto Rico
1974 Helen Morgan (Resigned) United Kingdom
1974 Anneline Kriel (unknown) South Africa
1973 Marjorie Wallace United States
1972 Belinda Green Australia
1971 Lúcia Petterle Brazil
1970 Jennifer Hosten Grenada
1969 Eva Rueber-Staier Austria
1968 Penelope Plummer Australia
1967 Madeline Hartog Bell Houghton Peru
1966 Reita Faria India
1965 Lesley Langley UNITED KINGDOM
1964 Ann Sidney United Kingdom
1963 Carole Joan Crawford Jamaica
1962 Catharina Johanna Lodders Netherlands
1961 Rosemarie Frankland United Kingdom
1960 Norma Gladys Cappagli Argentina
1959 Corine Rottschafer Netherlands
1958 Penelope Anne Coelen South Africa
1957 Marita Lindahl Finland
1956 Petra Susanna Schürmann Germany
1955 Carmen Susana Duijm Zubillaga Venezuela
1954 Antigone Constanda Egypt
1953 Denise Perrier France
1952 May Louise Flodin Sweden
1951 Kiki Haakonson Sweden

About Admin

Check Also

Banaras Hindu University: The Name Speaks For Itself

In the field of academics and research work, Banaras Hindu University has been listed amongst ...

Leave a Reply